All travellers into Republic will need negative Covid-19 tests from Saturday

All travellers into the Republic will have to produce a negative PCR Covid-19 test from the previous 72 hours in new rules set to come into effect this Saturday.

The Cabinet agreed the new measures on Tuesday.

A Government statement said arrivals from Britain and South Africa would continue to require a negative/not detected PCR test and must continue to isolate for 14 days, even if they take a second test after arrival.

Travel from both of those countries has been restricted in an attempt to avoid importing two more transmissible variants of the Covid-19 first detected there. Both the UK variant and the South African variant have been found in the Republic.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.